Carroll Hospital Names Abdel Sawan, M.D., 2022 Physician of the Year, and Ed Tenali, P.A.-C., Advanced Practice Provider of the Year

Abdel Sawan, M.D., emergency medicine, was named Carroll Hospital’s 2022 Physician of the Year, and Ed Tenali, P.A.-C., adult hospitalist, was named Advanced Practice Provider of the Year during the hospital’s annual Doctors Day Celebration on April 19.
Affiliated with Carroll Hospital for 16 years, Dr. Sawan was chosen for his outstanding patient care in the emergency department. A prime example was his quick assessment of a patient’s condition and need for medical intervention during a follow up call with the patient, which earned him last year’s June Physician of the Month Award.

“Dr. Sawn is an exceptional physician who is truly deserving of this award. He always goes above and beyond to provide patients with the highest quality of care and is genuinely concerned about their well-being inside the hospital and after they’ve been discharged,” said Mark Olszyk, M.D., vice president of medical affairs and chief medical officer at Carroll Hospital.

Tenali has been affiliated with the hospital for nearly five years and was awarded for his expertise and initiative in implementing strategies in the hospital’s Observation Unit to ensure patients always received efficient care. 

“Ed not only impresses his colleagues and patients with his outstanding care and strong worth ethic but also with his positive attitude. Even amid this pandemic, his enthusiasm made him a joy to work with and helped lift patients’ spirits during their hospital stay,” said Dr. Olszyk.

The hospital’s Doctors Day celebration is held each year to recognize the medical staff for their extraordinary patient care. During this year’s event, the hospital also recognized providers who received the Physician and Provider of the Month honors from March 2021 to February 2022. They included Sumit Bhutani, M.D. (March 2021); Leonid Levin, M.D. (April 2021); Matthew Smith, M.D. (May 2021); Abdel Sawan, M.D. (June 2021); Diljon Chahal, M.D. (July 2021); Jessica Hobbs, M.D. (August 2021); Roberto Brandao, D.P.M. (September 2021); Paul Kleinow, M.D. (October 2021); Jessica Mazzone, C.R.N.P. (November 2021); Patrick Desamours, P.A.-C. (December 2021); Yatin Patel, M.D. (January 2022); and Anita Rao, M.D. (February 2022). 

Carroll Hospital, a LifeBridge Health Center, is a nonprofit, acute care facility offering the latest in medical technology, experienced medical professionals in a variety of specialties and a continuum of programs and services to meet the needs of the community. 

Photo caption: From left to right is 2022 Physician of the Year, Abdel Sawan, M.D., emergency medicine; and 2022 Advanced Practice Provider of the Year, Ed Tenali, P.A.-C.


CONTACT: Simone Lindsay, 410-871-7121